Dennis Goodwin

Longtime Donelson Christian Academy coach Dennis Goodwin will be among the class of 2019 inductees into the Tennessee Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame on Dec. 7 at 9 a.m. at the Life Church in Cookeville. 

Longtime Donelson Christian Academy coach and current athletic director Dennis Goodwin will be among the class of 2019 inductees into the Tennessee Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame. 

Goodwin will join 54-year coaching veteran and current Brentwood High School assistant coach Tom Crawford, former Milan coach Jeff Morris and former Bruceton coach Rod Sturdivant, who will be inducted Dec. 7 at 9 a.m. at the Life Church in Cookeville. 

“I am truly humbled and honored to be included with such a legendary group of coaches from our state,” Goodwin said. “An honor such as this is truly unexpected and comes as a surprise. I want to thank the Tennessee Football Coaches Association for this prestigious honor, and it is especially gratifying knowing that this selection is voted on by your peers.

“I have had the privilege to coach some of the finest young men anyone could ever imagine. These young men have taught me so much. I have had the great fortune of being able to spend my entire coaching career at one school. I had tremendous role models and mentors in coach Mike Brown, the late coach Richard Hewitt, the late coach George MacIntyre, the late coach Garland Russell and the late coach Ken Redmond. I have always been blessed with a tremendous and knowledgeable coaching staff, and I am indebted to all of those outstanding men for the impact they have had on our program. A special thanks goes to the support staff, our training staff and the hundreds of volunteers who have worked behind the scenes.”

Goodwin was head coach at Donelson Christian Academy for 25 seasons from 1993-2018 and posted a 219-87 overall record during that time. Donelson Christian made the playoffs all 25 seasons under Goodwin.

Goodwin coached football for 35 years, all at Donelson Christian. He made state title games as state champion in 1988 and runner up in 1989 in Class A as defensive coordinator. He was head coach of the 1996 state championship team, 2003 state runner-up team and 2004 state championship team in Class 1A and 2017 state runner-up team in Division II-A.

Goodwin continues to serve as Donelson Christian’s athletic director and has served in that capacity for the past 27 years.  

The 2019 hall of fame class is the sixth class to be inducted, and this year’s class has a combined 807 wins and won five state titles in four different classifications in Class A, Class 1A, Class 2A and Class 3A.

“Once again, we are excited to introduce a new class of highly deserving coaches and contributors into our TnFCA Hall of Fame,” said TnFCA president Thomas McDaniel. 

“As an association, we welcome the opportunity to acknowledge worthy men whom have given so much to this wonderful game.  This class represent the very best across our state form east to west and across multiple generations.”

Crawford is a 54-year coaching veteran who started coaching in 1965 and is currently coaching with his son, Ron Crawford, at Brentwood High School.

In his coaching career, Crawford was involved in 335 wins with 158 coming as a head coach and 177 as an assistant.  

He was head coach at Dyersburg Junior High School from 1965-67, Dyersburg High School from 1967-70, Jackson Central Merry School from 1971-74, Shelbyville from 1974-79 and 1983-88, Moore County from 1980-82, Clarksville Northeast from 1989-92 and LaVergne from 1993-2001.

Since 2002, Crawford has been an assistant coach at Brentwood, where he won a 2002 Class 5A state title. 

While at Dyersburg, he made the Lions Bowl in 1968. He led Shelbyville to district championships in 1976 and 1987 and was district coach of the year in 1976. He had an undefeated regular season with Shelbyville in 1987, Class AAA playoff berth and finished 11-1 before a second-round playoff loss to McMinn County. Crawford led Shelbyville to back-to-back Lions Bowl championships in 1976-77. 

He led Moore County to a Duck River Valley district championship in 1982 and made two bowl games while at Clarksville Northeast. He led LaVergne to first- and second-round playoff appearances in 1995 and 1996, respectively, and won the school’s first playoff game in 1996. LaVergne made four bowl games in 1994, 1997, 2000 and 2001 with Crawford as head coach. 

Morris served as Milan’s head coach for 22 seasons from 1996-2017 and compiled a 222-68 overall record. He won 10 or more games in 12 different seasons, and Milan made the playoffs 21 of 22 years under Morris. Milan’s playoff record was 53-19 under Morris. He won two state titles in 1998 in Class 2A and in 1999 in Class 3A and had four runner-up appearances in 2008 in Class 2A and in 2009, 2011 and 2012 in Class 3A. 

Sturdivant served as Hollow Rock Bruceton’s head coach from 1981-2003 and compiled a 207-70 overall record. Bruceton made 20 consecutive playoff appearances under Sturdivant from 1983-2002. Bruceton’s playoff record under Sturdivant was 38-19. He won a Class A state title in 1989 and had two runner-up appearances in 1990 in Class A and in 1995 in Class 1A. Sturdivant served as Hollow Rock Bruceton director of schools from 1981-2013.

Recommended for you