A pair of Middle Tennessee schools fell just shy of earning TSSAA state bowling championships Friday morning at the Smyrna Bowling Center.

Hardin County defeated Franklin 22-5 for the Division I girls title and Smyrna 20-7 for the Division I boys title. It was the eighth straight state championship victory for the Hardin County girls and the fourth overall title for the boys.

Lipscomb Academy sophomore Jenna Hedgepath dropped the Division II girls individual championship to St. Benedict senior Lucy Garry 169-147 on Friday. Friendship Christian junior Casie Cottrell finished third, Clarksville Academy senior Leah Hayes finished fourth and Lipscomb Academy senior Elise McFarlin finished fifth.

Columbia Academy senior Austin Kimes was the lone area bowler to make the DII individual boys finals. He earned fifth place after beating Briarcrest Christian's Andrew Billions but losing to Boyd Buchanan's Caleb Kelley in the ladder matches. Notre Dame senior C.J. Petrin won his third straight individual title.

On Wednesday, the Division I individual titles went to Hardin County senior Kailee Channell (girls) and Hardin Valley senior Devean Littlejohn (boys). Channell beat Smyrna junior Elizabeth Coutta 200-162 in her championship match, while Littlejohn defeated Walker Valley senior Jacob Brown 238-197.

Stewarts Creek sophomore Bricey Caudill and White House senior Kyleigh Husted placed third and fourth in the girls tournament, respectively. Lawrence County senior Colton Moore took third in the boys bracket, while Franklin sophomore Drew Whalen and Green Hill sophomore Andy Romer placed fifth and sixth.

The Division II team championships will be decided on Saturday morning at the Smyrna Bowling Center. Both the boys and girls matches begin at 9 a.m.

See complete results from the TSSAA girls state bowling tournaments here.

See complete results from the TSSAA boys state bowling tournament here.

Recommended for you